alagaesia newsletter header

October 2013

Kvetha Fricaya! Greetings Friends.

I’m delighted to announce the release of the 10th anniversary edition of Eragon. This version of Eragon is the one I’ve always wanted: leather bound with marbled end papers and illustrations throughout.

The cover alone is enough to make me drool. The artist, Ciruelo Cabral, is a friend of mine. I’ve always admired his work, and he graciously made room in his schedule to both draw the cover dragon and paint one of the interior illustrations.

The other artists are Donato Giancola (a modern master), Michael Hague (a childhood hero of mine ever since I saw his paintings for The Hobbit), John Jude Palencar (who has done every single cover for the Inheritance Cycle up until now), and Raoul Vitale (a truly skilled artist when it comes to light and color).

And . . . I contributed a piece of art myself: a drawing of Brom, which I based off of none other than my father (although I did stick a beard on him for appearances sake). Hopefully you’ll enjoy it!

I loved seeing how each artist chose to interpret their subject; hopefully you’ll enjoy their work as much as I do. After so many years spent thinking about the world and the characters, getting to see them in one form or another outside of my head is a real treat.

Also, the 10th anniversary edition of Eragon contains the definitive version of the text. Over the years, I’ve tweaked a number of lines in the book, both for style reasons and to smooth out some inconsistencies with the rest of the series. It’s mostly stuff that no one will notice, but as the author, it makes me happy to know that people can read the best version of my story.

On November 16th I’m going to be doing an event for the 10th anniversary edition in New York City, along with James Dashner and Brandon Sanderson. If you can make it, I hope to see you there!

Once again, thank you for supporting the Inheritance Cycle over the years.

And as always, may your swords stay sharp!

Christopher Paolini

Return to 2013 | Return to Full Archive

Christopher Paolini

About Christopher Paolini

Christopher Paolini is the author of the international bestsellers Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr, and Inheritance, along with Eragon’s Guide to Alagaësia. He resides in Paradise Valley, Montana, USA.