Murtagh Marks the Return to the World of Eragon

Kvetha Fricaya! Greetings Friends!

At long last, I’m delighted to announce that I am returning to Alagaësia, with . . . Murtagh! In the words of my publisher, Penguin Random House:

Murtagh - World of Eragon

MURTAGH transports readers into an electrifying adventure, with danger and intrigue around every corner. The world is no longer safe for Murtagh and his dragon, Thorn. An evil king has been toppled, and they are left to face the consequences of the reluctant role they played in his reign of terror.  Now they are hated and alone, exiled to the outskirts of society. But when Murtagh discovers something wicked lurking in the shadows of Alagaësia, so begins an epic journey into lands both familiar and untraveled, where he and Thorn must use every weapon in their arsenal, from brains to brawn, to find and outwit a mysterious witch. A witch who is much more than she seems . . .”

Murtagh is set roughly one year after the events of Inheritance and is a direct sequel to the original four books (and The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm). The book releases on November 7th, 2023 and is available for pre-order now.

I poured my heart and soul into this one, and I think it’s everything that readers new and old alike have been waiting for. But that’s not all! 2023 marks the twentieth anniversary of the hardcover release of Eragon, which means . . . that’s right, we’re also releasing Eragon: The Illustrated Edition on November 7th, 2023—a dazzling oversized edition featuring brand-new, full-color illustrations by the talented fantasy artist Sidharth Chaturvedi.

And if that weren’t enough, newly packaged paperback editions of the Inheritance Cycle will release on April 25, 2023 and will include an excerpt of Murtagh, plus bonus in-world content.

Gird your loins, folks. Here be dragons (and werecats). And again, don’t forget to pre-order!

Cover Art

The cover of Murtagh was painted by none other than John Jude Palancar. John has painted the covers for all of my other books in Alagaësia, and as usual, he did an absolutely stunning job. Just look at it!

World of Eragon - Murtagh - Eragon - Eldest - Brisingr - Inheritance
Murtagh - World of Eragon

From the Fans

In case you’ve missed it, I’ve spent the last week and a half teasing everyone on social media by dropping hints that big news was coming. Now, with Murtagh officially announced, the support and anticipation for the book has been AMAZING. Follow me on TikTok, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram or check out #Murtagh.

Christopher Paolini

Christopher Paolini is the author of the international bestsellers Eragon, Eldest, Brisingr, and Inheritance, as well as The Fork, the Witch, and the Worm. Murtagh is now available and marks the highly anticipated return to the World of Eragon. His debut science fiction novel, To Sleep in a Sea of Stars, came out in September 2020 and its prequel, Fractal Noise, was released in May 2023. He resides in Paradise Valley, Montana, USA.

Full Bio